shelter PDF: 1 to 10 of 1000 results fetched - page 1 [ec]

Zoolz is the only cloud solution that keeps your data even when you disconnect your drives
Now you can translate your PDF documents automatically to dozens of languages.

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=634035&cjsku=634035...
An ambitious near-future SF novel of climate change, artificial intelligence, and human feeling
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9780312866020

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1220285&cjsku=1220285...
Theme: Hi-lo, fiction, middle school, family, life, adventure. They were trapped. Then Ana remembered the old stone church. It was nearby. She knew the old building was the safest place for her family. It could withstand the high winds and rising water. These traditional reads are brimming with spirited characters and positive valuesbut with a little extra excitement and bite, so hold on to your hats! Written expressly for the middle grade struggling reader, the series does not contain strong language, edgy themes, or dysfunctional families. In fact, family is the main theme of these titles. And one particular Latino family is the focus with their uncanny knack for finding humor, hope, and colorful personalitieseven in unusual circumstances. Written at the lowest reading levels, the 50-page story structure is straightforward and moves the reader through the text quickly and efficiently.
Category: Children's & Young Adult Fiction. ISBN: 9781622500468

Shelter

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=634035&fc=US&cjsku=634035...
An ambitious near-future SF novel of climate change, artificial intelligence, and human feeling
Category: FICTION / Science Fiction / General. ISBN:

Shelter

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1996364&fc=CA&cjsku=1996364...
"Shelter is domestic drama at its best, a gripping narrative of secrets and revelations that seized me from beginning to end ."—Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-Winning author of The Sympathizer One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of the Year (Selected by Edan Lepucki) Now BuzzFeed's #1 Most Buzzed About Book of 2016 So Far Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Kyung Cho is a young father burdened by a house he can’t afford. For years, he and his wife, Gillian, have lived beyond their means. Now their debts and bad decisions are catching up with them, and Kyung is anxious for his family’s future. A few miles away, his parents, Jin and Mae, live in the town’s most exclusive neighborhood, surrounded by the material comforts that Kyung desires for his wife and son. Growing up, they gave him every possible advantage—private tutors, expensive hobbies—but they never showed him kindness. Kyung can hardly bear to see them now, much less ask for their help. Yet when an act of violence leaves Jin and Mae unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he’s compelled to take them in. For the first time in years, the Chos find themselves living under the same roof. Tensions quickly mount as Kyung’s proximity to his parents forces old feelings of guilt and anger to the surface, along with a terrible and persistent question: how can he ever be a good husband, father, and son when he never knew affection as a child? As Shelter veers swiftly toward its startling conclusion, Jung Yun leads us through dark and violent territory, where, unexpectedly, the Chos discover hope. Shelter is a masterfully crafted debut novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family and, in answer, delivers a story as riveting as it is profound.
Category: FICTION / Literary. ISBN:

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96474966&cjsku=96474966...
A little cabin is both a tie to the past and a promise for the future for a woman seeking to continue a family tradition in Minnesota's north country.
Category: Biography & Autobiography. ISBN: 9780873518000

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96382614&cjsku=96382614...
Heartrending, but absolutely necessary and enlightening, this lyric debut is beautiful in its courage and honesty.
Category: Poetry. ISBN: 9781882295722

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96021452&cjsku=96021452...
Raw and risky, a new rural romance that explores the dark side of small towns, and the people who put everything on the line to protect them... Kat Daily is excited to trade her Sydney airport quarantine uniform for an RSPCA inspector's uniform and a job in the rural town of Walgarra. A fresh start in a new place, where she can make a real difference in the lives of the animals that she loves. But Walgarra doesn't offer a peaceful, bucolic existence. Like many small towns, the distance from urban settings and urban law enforcement has allowed a criminal element to set in. Kat may only be looking after animals, but that doesn't mean she will be immune to people with sinister agendas. The previous RSCPCA inspector was murdered, and Officer Luka Belovuk is determined to keep the new inspector from the same fate. He may have very broad shoulders, but carrying the safety of the lawabiding community just trying to live their lives has weighed him down, and one more death might be more than he can take. Not all small towns are quaint and quiet, but they all have one thing in common: a community of people willing to protect their population with everything they have.
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9781489237606

Shelter

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=634035&fc=CA&cjsku=634035...
An ambitious near-future SF novel of climate change, artificial intelligence, and human feeling
Category: FICTION / Science Fiction / General. ISBN:

Shelter

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1996364&cjsku=1996364...
" Shelter is domestic drama at its best, a gripping narrative of secrets and revelations that seized me from beginning to end ." Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-Winning author of The Sympathizer One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of the Year (Selected by Edan Lepucki) Now BuzzFeed' s #1 Most Buzzed About Book of 2016 So Far Longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Kyung Cho is a young father burdened by a house he can't afford. For years, he and his wife, Gillian, have lived beyond their means. Now their debts and bad decisions are catching up with them, and Kyung is anxious for his family's future. A few miles away, his parents, Jin and Mae, live in the town's most exclusive neighborhood, surrounded by the material comforts that Kyung desires for his wife and son. Growing up, they gave him every possible advantageprivate tutors, expensive hobbiesbut they never showed him kindness. Kyung can hardly bear to see them now, much less ask for their help. Yet when an act of violence leaves Jin and Mae unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he's compelled to take them in. For the first time in years, the Chos find themselves living under the same roof. Tensions quickly mount as Kyung's proximity to his parents forces old feelings of guilt and anger to the surface, along with a terrible and persistent question: how can he ever be a good husband, father, and son when he never knew affection as a child? As Shelter veers swiftly toward its startling conclusion, Jung Yun leads us through dark and violent territory, where, unexpectedly, the Chos discover hope. Shelter is a masterfully crafted debut novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family and, in answer, delivers a story as riveting as it is profound.
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9781250075611

Shelter

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96366225&fc=AU&cjsku=96366225...
'Beautiful' Adele Parks 'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh 'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray 'Its characters pulse with life and energy . . . vividly rendered' Daily Mail Perfect for fans of Early One Morning by Virginia Baily and the novels of Maggie O'Farrell. Early spring 1944. Connie Granger has escaped her bombed-out city home, finding refuge in the Women's Timber Corps. For her, this remote community must now serve a secret purpose. Seppe, an Italian prisoner of war, is haunted by his memories. In the forest camp, he finds a strange kind of freedom. Their meeting signals new beginnings. But as they are drawn together, the world outside their forest haven is being torn apart. Old certainties are crumbling, and both must now make a life-defining choice. What price will they pay for freedom? What will they fight to protect? What readers are saying about Shelter: 'Tender, moving . . . with its unforgettable heroine' Irish Times 'Powerful and moving. Connie and Seppe are amazing characters. So well nuanced. I loved her feisty courage. And such heartbreak! This compelling debut shows how outsiders in a time of war seek to rebuild their lives again' Essie Fox, author of The Last Days of Leda Grey 'I LOVED it. Seppe is one of the most refreshing portrayals of masculinity I have ever read' Shelley Harris, author of Jubilee 'A lovely hymn to the woods and the men and women who worked there during the Second World War' Lissa Evans, author of Their Finest Hour 'The deeply profound effects of war quietly resonate through Sarah Franklin's gentle but delightful debut. Filled with characters armed with little more than their steadfast resolve and plucky humour, Shelter casts a light on the often forgotten work of the Women's Timber Corps and presents it with charm and delicately refreshing warmth' Jason Hewitt, author of Devastation Road 'A brilliant book. Everyone should read it' Alex Reeve, author of House on Half Moon Street 'Such a treat . . . a super sense of place' Rachael Beale, London Review Bookshop 'Beautifully written . . . Authentic and honest' Roger Deek, 'Reading the Forest' 'An impressive debut' WhatCathyReadNext 'Fresh, moving and redemptive' Literary Sofa 'One of the year's hottest debuts' NetGalley, Book of the Month 'Evocative, beautifully complex characters you grow to adore and a grittiness that grounds you within its message of loss, hope and what home really means' Goodreads 5* review 'The book is really fantastic. It's Sarah Franklin's debut novel but I really hope she's working on her second one right now' NetGalley Reviewer 'A tender, empathetic novel' NetGalley Reviewer 'Spirited, determined and reckless, the Second World War brings Connie the opportunity to seek what she's looking for, but the price for that opportunity is a high one . . . an impressive debut' NetGalley Reviewer
Category: FICTION / Literary. ISBN:
[1] 2345Next