penguin books PDF: 1 to 10 of 100 results fetched - page 1 [an]

National Geographic Readers: Penguins!

https://www.amazon.com/National-Geographic-Readers-Anne-Schr...
They waddled into stardom in National Geographic’s March of the Penguins film. These guys are now nature’s ROCK STARS! If you’re age 5, you’re probably as tall as an Emperor. But why do they throw up so much? March this way, and find out all!National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources.Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Published by: National Geographic Children's Books | Publication date: 07/24/2012
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 32 pages, ISBN 0978142630426

Penguin Says "Please" (Hello Genius)

https://www.amazon.com/Penguin-Says-Please-Hello-Genius-eboo...
Penguin must learn to say please.
Author: Michael Dahl
Published by: Picture Window Books | Publication date: 04/01/2014
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 20 pages

The Penguin Lessons: What I Learned from a Remarkable Bird

https://www.amazon.com/Penguin-Lessons-What-Learned-Remarkab...
A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will delight readers who loved Marley & Me, Dewey the Library Cat, The Good Good Pig, and any book by Jon Katz.In 1975, twenty-three-year-old Englishman Tom Michell follows his wanderlust to Argentina, where he becomes assistant master at a prestigious boarding school. But Michell’s adventures really begin when, on a weekend in Uruguay, he rescues a penguin covered in oil from an ocean spill, cleans the bird up, and attempts to return him to the sea. The penguin refuses to leave his rescuer’s side. “That was the moment at which he became my penguin, and whatever the future held, we’d face it together,” says Michell in this charming memoir. Michell names the penguin Juan Salvador (“John Saved”), but Juan Salvador, as it turns out, is the one who saves Michell.After Michell smuggles the bird back to Argentina and into his campus apartment, word spreads about the young Englishman’s unusual roommate. Juan Salvador is suddenly the center of attention—as mascot of the rugby team, confidant to the dorm housekeeper, co-host of Michell’s parties, and an unprecedented swimming coach to a shy boy. Even through the collapse of the Perónist government and amid the country’s economic and political strife, Juan Salvador brings joy to everyone around him—especially Michell, who considers the affectionate animal a compadre and kindred spirit. Witty and heartwarming, The Penguin Lessons is a classic in the making, a story that is both absurd and wonderful, exactly like Juan Salvador.Praise for The Penguin Lessons “I loved this book, and you will, too! It’s as charming, heartwarming, and surprising as a penguin on a roof terrace. What’s more, The Penguin Lessons teaches an important truth: that a single act of compassion can be repaid a thousand-fold.”—Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig and the National Book Award finalist The Soul of an Octopus “[Tom Michell’s] tone suits the material perfectly. . . . You believe every word. . . . No fool, this penguin. No fools, these publishers, who have unleashed such a delightful and charming book just in time for Christmas.”—Daily Mail (U.K.) “Heart-warming is a wholly inadequate phrase to describe this captivating story that is pure delight from beginning to end.”—The Bookseller (U.K.)
Author: Tom Michell
Published by: Ballantine Books | Publication date: 10/27/2015
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 225 pages

Penguin Problems

https://www.amazon.com/Penguin-Problems-Jory-John-ebook/dp/B...
Have you ever thought: I have so many problems and nobody even cares? Well, penguins have problems too! Discover them in this hilarious collaboration from Jory John (All my friends are dead. and Quit Calling Me a Monster!) and Lane Smith (The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales)!   This penguin has come to tell you that life in Antarctica is no paradise. For starters, it is FREEZING. Also, penguins have a ton of natural predators. Plus, can you imagine trying to find your mom in a big ol’ crowd of identical penguins? No, thank you.   Yes, it seems there is no escaping the drudgery of your daily grind, whatever it might be. Or perhaps we’ve just learned that grumps are everywhere. . . .    This book is sure to tickle kids’ funny bones and will elicit appreciative sighs from the adults reading it aloud.  "We are all Mortimer [the main character in Penguin Problems]." —The New York Times“Bursting with humor.” —Kirkus Reviews   “The snark level is cranked up high.” —The Horn Book, Starred   “Will be right at home with fans of Jon Klassen’s This Is Not My Hat.” —Booklist   “Classic comedy.” —Publishers Weekly   “Rib-tickling.” —School Library Journal
Author: Jory John
Published by: Random House Books for Young Readers | Publication date: 09/27/2016
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 32 pages

The Penguin Book of Hell (Penguin Classics)

https://www.amazon.com/Penguin-Book-Hell-Classics-ebook/dp/B...
"From the Bible through Dante and up to Treblinka and Guantánamo Bay, here is a rich source for nightmares." --The New York Times Book ReviewThree thousand years of visions of Hell, from the ancient Near East to modern AmericaFrom the Hebrew Bible's shadowy realm of Sheol to twenty-first-century visions of Hell on earth, The Penguin Book of Hell takes us through three thousand years of eternal damnation. Along the way, you'll take a ferry ride with Aeneas to Hades, across the river Acheron; meet the Devil as imagined by a twelfth-century Irish monk--a monster with a thousand giant hands; wander the nine circles of Hell in Dante's Inferno, in which gluttons, liars, heretics, murderers, and hypocrites are made to endure crime-appropriate torture; and witness the debates that raged in Victorian England when new scientific advances cast doubt on the idea of an eternal hereafter. Drawing upon religious poetry, epics, theological treatises, stories of miracles, and accounts of saints' lives, this fascinating volume of hellscapes illuminates how Hell has long haunted us, in both life and death.
Published by: Penguin Classics | Publication date: 09/04/2018
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 301 pages

National Geographic Readers: Hello, Penguin!

https://www.amazon.com/National-Geographic-Readers-Hello-Pen...
Meet amazing penguins from all around the world! Young readers will learn about penguins big and small in this new pre-reader from National Geographic Kids. Through text features such as a vocabulary tree and wrap-up activity, kids will be introduced to vocabulary in concept groups – helping them make connections between words and expand their understanding of the world.
Published by: National Geographic Children's Books | Publication date: 12/12/2017
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 24 pages

The Count of Monte Cristo (Penguin Classics)

https://www.amazon.com/Count-Monte-Cristo-Penguin-Classics-e...
Thrown in prison for a crime he has not committed, Edmond Dantes is confined to the grim fortress of If. There he learns of a great hoard of treasure hidden on the Isle of Monte Cristo and becomes determined not only to escape but to unearth the treasure and use it to plot the destruction of the three men responsible for his incarceration. A huge popular success when it was first serialized in the 1840s, Dumas was inspired by a real-life case of wrongful imprisonment when writing his epic tale of suffering and retribution.Translated and with an introduction and notes by Robin Buss. Includes explanatory footnotes, as well as suggestions for further reading of acclaimed literary criticisms and references.
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 03/27/2003
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 1312 pages

The Penguin Book of Haiku (Penguin Classics)

https://www.amazon.com/Penguin-Book-Haiku-Classics-ebook/dp/...
'A revelation' Sunday Times, Books of the Year 2018The first Penguin anthology of Japanese haiku, in vivid new translations by Adam L. Kern. Now a global poetry, the haiku was originally a Japanese verse form that flourished from the sixteenth to nineteenth centuries. Although renowned for its brevity, usually running three lines long in seventeen syllables, and by its use of natural imagery to make Zen-like observations about reality, in fact the haiku is much more: it can be erotic, funny, crude and mischievous. Presenting over a thousand exemplars in vivid and engaging translations, this anthology offers an illuminating introduction to this widely celebrated, if misunderstood, art form. Adam L. Kern's new translations are accompanied here by the original Japanese and short commentaries on the poems, as well as an introduction and illustrations from the period.
Author: Adam L. Kern
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 05/31/2018
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 544 pages

Jane Eyre: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

https://www.amazon.com/Jane-Eyre-Penguin-Classics-Deluxe-ebo...
Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design. Charlotte Brontë's first published novel, Jane Eyre was immediately recognised as a work of genius when it appeared in 1847. Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. How she takes up the post of governess at Thornfield Hall, meets and loves Mr Rochester and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage are elements in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman's passionate search for a wider and richer life than that traditionally accorded to her sex in Victorian society.
Published by: Penguin Classics | Publication date: 11/30/2010
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 460 pages

2001: A Space Odyssey (Space Odyssey Series)

https://www.amazon.com/2001-Space-Odyssey-ebook/dp/B01A6E8EQ...
The classic science fiction novel that captures and expands on the vision of Stanley Kubrick’s immortal film—and changed the way we look at the stars and ourselves.From the savannas of Africa at the dawn of mankind to the rings of Saturn as man ventures to the outer rim of our solar system, 2001: A Space Odyssey is a journey unlike any other.This allegory about humanity’s exploration of the universe—and the universe’s reaction to humanity—is a hallmark achievement in storytelling that follows the crew of the spacecraft Discovery as they embark on a mission to Saturn. Their vessel is controlled by HAL 9000, an artificially intelligent supercomputer capable of the highest level of cognitive functioning that rivals—and perhaps threatens—the human mind. Grappling with space exploration, the perils of technology, and the limits of human power, 2001: A Space Odyssey continues to be an enduring classic of cinematic scope.
Published by: Ace | Publication date: 09/01/2000
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 255 pages
[1] 2345Next
PDFfetch