berlin PDF: 1 to 10 of 1000 results fetched - page 1 [ec]

Zoolz is the only cloud solution that keeps your data even when you disconnect your drives
Now you can translate your PDF documents automatically to dozens of languages.

Berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=240387&cjsku=240387...
This anniversary study presents a readable, informative account of the development and current structure of Berlin.
Category: History. ISBN: 9780416922202

Berlin

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=95712780&fc=US&cjsku=95712780...
In the political history of the past century, no city has played a more prominent-though often disastrous-role than Berlin. At the same time, Berlin has also been a dynamic center of artistic and intellectual innovation. If Paris was the "Capital of the Nineteenth Century," Berlin was to become the signature city for the next hundred years. Once a symbol of modernity, in the Thirties it became associated with injustice and the abuse of power. After 1945, it became the iconic City of the Cold War. Since the fall of the Wall, Berlin has again come to represent humanity's aspirations for a new beginning, tempered by caution deriving from the traumas of the recent past. David Clay Large's definitive history of Berlin is framed by the two German unifications of 1871 and 1990. Between these two events several themes run like a thread through the city's history: a persistent inferiority complex; a distrust among many ordinary Germans, and the national leadership of the "unloved city's" electric atmosphere, fast tempo, and tradition of unruliness; its status as a magnet for immigrants, artists, intellectuals, and the young; the opening up of social, economic, and ethnic divisions as sharp as the one created by the Wall.
Category: HISTORY / Europe / Germany. ISBN:

Berlin

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=209619981&fc=CA&cjsku=209619981...
Located at the epicentre of modern Europe's most significant and turbulent events, Berlin has long held a magnetic attraction for writers. From nineteenth-century authors recording the city's dramatic transition from Prussian Hauptstadt to German capital after 1871 and the modernist intellectuals of the Weimar period, to the resistance writers brave enough to write during the dark years of the Nazi era and those who captured life on both sides of the divided city, a body of literature has emerged that reveals Berlin's ever-shifting identity. Since 1989, Berlin has yet again become a crucible of creativity, serving as both muse and sanctuary for a new generation of writers who regularly claim it as one of the most exciting cities in the world. Berlin: A Literary Guide for Travellers illuminates some of the finest writing in and about Berlin. Spanning more than 200 years of local life and literature, it features German authors as diverse as Goethe, Nietzsche, Marx, Hermann Hesse and Joseph Roth and a kaleidoscope of famous international names such as Mark Twain, Philip Hensher, Walter Benjamin and Christopher Isherwood. It is also a singular guide to some of the best sights, most vibrant neighbourhoods and best-kept local secrets that this unique city has to offer. 'A rich and learned companion for every lover of Berlin; bursting with anecdote and alive with history.  A must.' Rory MacLean, author of Berlin: Imagine a City
Category: LITERARY CRITICISM / General. ISBN:

Berlin

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=209619981&fc=GB&cjsku=209619981...
Located at the epicentre of modern Europe's most significant and turbulent events, Berlin has long held a magnetic attraction for writers. From nineteenth-century authors recording the city's dramatic transition from Prussian Hauptstadt to German capital after 1871 and the modernist intellectuals of the Weimar period, to the resistance writers brave enough to write during the dark years of the Nazi era and those who captured life on both sides of the divided city, a body of literature has emerged that reveals Berlin's ever-shifting identity. Since 1989, Berlin has yet again become a crucible of creativity, serving as both muse and sanctuary for a new generation of writers who regularly claim it asà one of the most exciting cities in the world. Berlin: A Literary Guide for Travellers illuminates some of the finest writing in and about Berlin. Spanning more than 200 years of local life and literature, it features German authors as diverse as Goethe, Nietzsche, Marx, Hermann Hesse and Joseph Roth and a kaleidoscope of famous international names such as Mark Twain, Philip Hensher, Walter Benjamin and Christopher Isherwood. It is also a singular guide to some of the best sights, most vibrant neighbourhoods and best-kept local secrets that this unique city has to offer. 'A rich and learned companion for every lover of Berlin; bursting with anecdote and alive with history. à A must.' Rory MacLean, author of Berlin: Imagine a City
Category: LITERARY CRITICISM / General. ISBN:

Berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1267003&cjsku=1267003...
IM JAHR 1998 ist Berlin im Begriff, der Ort zu werden, von dem aus die Bundesrepublik Deutschland regiert werden wird. Die Stadt befindet sich inmitten eines bedeutenden Umbruchs. Sptestens seit dem Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts ist Berlin ein Platz, an dem sich Wendungen und Brche der Geschichte Mit teleuropas vor immer wieder gleichen Kulissen vollzogen haben. Jetzt beginnt angesichts der groen Vernderungen der letzten Jahre -der Einheit Europas, Deutschlands und der Stadt selbst - ein neu es Kapitel seiner Entwicklung. Der Zeitpunkt scheint geeignet, das Bewutsein dafr zu schrfen, was die Besonderheiten der Stadtkommune und ihres politischen, wirt schaftlichen und kulturellen Systems ausmachen. Rckblick, Blick auf die Gegenwart und auf die in die Zukunft reichenden Aspekte sind gleichermaen notwendig, um sich von Berlin ein Bild zu machen. Man wird feststellen: Selbst Determinanten wie die Geographie haben sich als durch politi sche Einflsse in extremer Weise beeinflubar erwiesen. Die Stadt entwickelte sich nicht aus eigenen brgerlichen Krften, sondern - politischen Vorgaben folgend - aus ihrer Stellung als Residenz des Landesherrn. Sie wurde so zum nrdlichen Vorort des deutschen Dualismus von sterreich und Preuen und schlielich zur Reichshauptstadt. Ob die Stadt Metropole oder gar Weltstadt war, blieb selbst in ihrer Weimarer Bltezeit umstritten, als "Germania" nur in Form grausiger Karikatur erreichbar. Der Fall aus diesen zentralen Positionen war tief.
Category: Social Science. ISBN: 9783810022196

Berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=95713575&cjsku=95713575...
Portrait amoureux d'une ville riche de son histoire. Il en est des villes comme des hommes, certaines marquent l'histoire en majuscules. Berlin n'est pas un simple point nvralgique sur une carte, elle est avant tout la mmoire vivante de l'Europe, capable d'un destin historique autant que de fougues individuelles. Dans un rcit trs personnel, Jrme Enez-Vriad nous offre le spectacle fascinant d'une mgalopole contemporaine indissociable de la culture qui l'a faite. Il mle le prsent au pass, en mme temps que s'entrecroise l'histoire de la ville avec sa propre existence. Dfilent au gr des pages des figures d'hier et d'aujourd'hui, certaines clbres, d'autres plus anonymes ; sont convoqus tour tour l'histoire, la littrature, la photographie, la musique, le cinma, l'architecture... travers ce tmoignage qui se distingue la fois par ses qualits littraires et ses connaissances encyclopdiques, Jrme Enez-Vriad nous entrane dans un voyage autant initiatique que rcratif. EXTRAIT La voix de l'htesse rsonna. Attachez vos ceintures. teignez vos cigarettes. L'avion mordit la piste. Je me revois passer la douane en observant autour de moi, surpris d'un aroport moins grand qu'une gare parisienne. Le vent Le froid L'hiver Ma jeunesse timide n'eut aucun mal trouver la voiture qui m'attendait. Le temps a fait son uvre depuis cette Saint-Valentin. Eh oui ! 14 fvrier ! Est-ce la raison du coup de foudre ? Je dis bien du , non pas de mon coup de foudre, car il fut rciproque. Les villes sont des entits vivantes gnratrices d'amour et de haine, autant de va-et-vient romanesques entre ce qu'elles dgagent et leurs habitants. Ds mon arrive, j'ai su que Berlin m'apprivoiserait. J'y ai vcu, tudi, travaill, crit des livres, rencontr des duchesses et des tapins (les premires ressemblaient parfois aux seconds, et inversement), j'y ai flirt avec les extrmes et la modration, avec le tango et la techno, avec la drogue et le sport, tant de souvenirs qui, ma grande surprise, retrouvent naturellement leurs contours l'heure de les exposer. Rares taient les livres sur Berlin en 1987. Celui-ci ne raconte pas la ville, il constitue plutt une baguenaude o l'intime prend le pas sur la force historique. Chaque chapitre est construit la manire d'une lanterne dont l'aura recompose le paysage. S'y mlent la gnrosit du partage et l'gosme des vritables amours. PROPOS DE L'AUTEUR Jrme Enez-Vriad est n Dinan, dans les Ctes d'Armor. Aprs des tudes de droit, il construit sa carrire dans le tourisme jusqu' la parution de son premier Roman, Shuffle, en 2012. Critique, romancier, il a sign de nombreuses interviews pour la presse-magazine, parmi lesquelles celles de Brigitte Bardot, Brigitte Fontaine, Fred Vargas, Gary Numan Il vit entre Berlin, Paris et Los Angeles.
Category: Travel. ISBN: 9782915002928

Berlin

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96437815&fc=US&cjsku=96437815...
A serial killer stalks the streets of post-World War II Berlin in this international bestselling thriller. Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been highly acclaimed. Ben, a German boy retrieving cigarette butts to repackage and sell on the black market, discovers the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. In the scramble to identify the body, the victim is mistaken for an American and a local investigation becomes a matter for the US Military Police. Cpt. John Ashburner and Inspector Klaus Dietrich realize quickly that to solve this apparently motiveless murder they will have to work together. When the bodies of other young women are discovered it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence. Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with an electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, in which the voices and stories of the victims themselves provide an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. “The historical elements are compelling. . . . [O]nce involved in the story it is difficult to put it down.” —School Library Journal
Category: FICTION / Thrillers / General. ISBN:

berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1050609&cjsku=1050609...
Brandenburger Tor! ? Her, ved de prjsiske kongers gamle byport, begynder historien om Berlin. Her m enhver, dansker svel som tysker, hen for at krone sit besg i det genforenede Tysklands hovedstad med selvsynet af sejrsgudinden, der med tmmerne i den ene hnd og standarten med jernkors og rigsrn i den anden styrer sin firspandige stridsvogn oppe p podiet over de seks doriske sjler. Her, hvor Frederik den Store, Napoleon, Hitler og Stalin alle, til nogles begejstring og andres beskmmelse, er draget igennem i triumf, genkalder man sig uvilkrligt billeder af tyske, europiske og globale skbnestunder og nulstunder, der indledte eller afsluttede epoker og krige.
Category: Travel. ISBN: 9788779346895

Berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=480563&cjsku=480563...
A Survival Guide to Customs and Etiquette in Berlin
Category: Reference. ISBN: 9780761456810

Berlin

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96463782&cjsku=96463782...
A metaphysical detective story in cold war Berlin for fans of Auster's City of Glass.
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9780981514819
[1] 2345Next