arts PDF: 1 to 10 of 1000 results fetched - page 1 [ec]

Zoolz is the only cloud solution that keeps your data even when you disconnect your drives
Get full control over PDFs. Edit, combine, transform and organize PDFs.

ARTS

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=840606&cjsku=840606...
This book treats arts as part of science, from the unified perspective of Science Matters. It contains 17 chapters, with 18 contributors who are prominent humanists, professional artists, or scientists. It consists of three parts: Part I: Philosophy and History of Arts; Part II: Arts in Action; Part III: Understanding Arts. The book is aimed at both research scholars and lay people, and is unique in two important aspects. It is probably the first and only book that academic professionals and practicing artists contribute to the same book, as equals, on the common theme of creating and understanding arts. (Artists here include Cristina Leiria whose huge Kun Iam (Goddess of Mercy) sculpture is an important landmark in Macau, and the famous movie director, Hark Tsui, who is publishing his first ever article on movie-making). Perhaps more importantly, a new understanding of the origin and nature of art is offered for the first time, which is more convincing than all the other hypotheses put forth in the last two thousand years.
Category: Language Arts & Disciplines. ISBN: 9789814324939

Black Arts

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1219137&cjsku=1219137...
The New York Times bestseller Jane Yellowrock is a shape-shifting skinwalker who always takes care of her ownno matter the cost .... When Evan Trueblood blows into town looking for his wife, Molly, he's convinced that she came to see her best friend, Jane. But it seems like the witch made it to NewOrleans and then disappeared without a trace. Jane is ready to do whatever it takes to find her friend. Her desperate search leads her deep into a web of black magic and betrayal and into the dark history between vampires and witches. But the closer she draws to Molly, the closer she draws to a new enemyone who is stranger and more powerful than any she has ever faced. From the Paperback edition.
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9780451465245

Arts & Entertainments

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1455678&cjsku=1455678...
Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebritya deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter. A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys' prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many. Weighted down with debt, his wife's mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impresario suggests Eddie sell a sex tape he made with an ex-girlfriend, now a wildly popular television star. Overcoming his initial moral qualms, Eddie figures that in an era when any publicity is good publicity, the tape won't cause any harma decision that will have disastrous consequences and propel him straight into the glaring spotlight he once thought he craved. A hilariously biting and incisive take-down of our culture's monstrous obsession with fame, Arts & Entertainments is also a poignant and humane portrait of a young man's belated coming-of-age, the complications of love, and the surprising ways in which the most meaningful lives often turn out to be the ones we least expected to lead.
Category: Fiction. ISBN: 9780062322463

Arts Marketing

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=288907&cjsku=288907...
Arts Marketing focuses on a variety of sectors within the arts and addresses the way in which marketing principles are applied within these, outlining both the similarities and the differences that occur. Relating policy to practice, this contributed text demonstrates the most effective means of marketing in specific areas of the arts, with each chapter having been written by a specialist in the field. Although primarily focusing on the UK market, the subject has global relevance and appeal, and policy is evaluated on national, European and supranational levels. Specialist topics dealt with range from the marketing of the theatre, opera, and museums, through to the film industry and popular music.
Category: Business. ISBN: 9780750659680

Arts Governance

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=1813155&cjsku=1813155...
Since the crisis in governance which led to a shortage of capable board members, recent years have seen the emergence of the enterprising arts organisation a development which has led to the need for new types of board members who have a greater understanding of 'mission, money and merit' within a cultural construct. This innovative book explores the world of the arts board member from the unique perspective of the cultural and creative industries. Using a wide range of research techniques including interviews with board members and stakeholders, board observations and case studies this book provides a rich and deep analysis from inside the boardroom. It provides in-depth insight into the changing pressures on arts boards after the financial crisis, and focuses uniquely on the role of passion on arts boards. Part of the Routledge Research in Creative and Cultural Industries Management series, written specifically for people seeking to develop their careers in cultural and creative management, this book is also for people working in and with arts organisations, in government and non-profit arts organisations. It will also be of interest to academics and researchers working in the wider corporate governance field.
Category: Business. ISBN: 9780415737555

Arts Leadership

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96174344&cjsku=96174344...
The contemporary world faces unprecedentedupheaval and change forcing institutions of all types to rethink how they are designed and how they must now function if they are to survive into an uncertain future. The performing arts are no exception; in an era of constantchange and technological transformation, arts organizations and their leaders face significant organizational challenges if they are tomaintain their relevance. Arts Leadership: Creating Sustainable Arts Organizations provides a contemporary overview of the field of arts leadership, focused on the performing arts . It examines what these challenges are, how they are affecting the performing arts and arts organizations in general and proposes creative ways to reimagine, build and lead sustainable arts organizations in this uncharted environment. With a global perspective drawn from his extensive experience advising arts organizations around the world and based on his own work successfully leading important performing arts organizations in the United States, Foster proposes an innovative approach to organizational design, systems, and structures for arts leaders in the 21st century that is based in ecological thinking and the creative process that is intrinsic to the arts. In disrupting conventional arts leadership practice, the book provides an exceptional tool to understand a unique sector, and is essential reading for students and practitioners across the creative and cultural industries.
Category: Business. ISBN: 9781138740211

Visual Arts

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=209640156&fc=US&cjsku=209640156...
The New York State Teacher Certification Exams (NYSTCE) are required for all candidates seeking licensure in the State. The NYSTCE series consists of many different tests assessing skills and abilities necessary for teachers. The Passbook® for the Content Specialty Test in Visual Arts provides hundreds of multiple-choice questions in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming certification exam, including but not limited to: tools, materials and techniques related to drawing, painting, photography, sculpture and architecture; principles of design; culture and history; and other related areas.
Category: STUDY AIDS / Civil Service. ISBN:

Arts Unknown

https://www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=457296&fc=GB&cjsku=457296...
Lee Brown Coye created more than 50 years worth of wildly imaginative and fantastic artwork for magazines like the original Weird Tales and prized books by Ray Bradbury, H. P. Lovecraft, and many other classic fantasy and horror authors. Now readers can find out why modern day artists in film (Guillermo del Toro, Panâs Labyrinth), horror (Stephen King, The Mist), and graphic-novels (Mike Mignola, Hellboy) are such big Coye fans.
Category: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Artists. ISBN:

Arts Reviews

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=96403491&cjsku=96403491...
The most wanted, the most feared, the most hated, the most powerful job in journalism: being a reviewer means writing about something you love and getting paid for it. So for a lot of people it's the NO 1 dream job in the media. Whether your passion is film, music, books, visual arts or the stage, you can get closer to it as a reviewer and establish a career in one of the most influential roles open to a writer. A great review will be read by millions, and writing it calls for a high degree of skill. Based on a lifelong passion, packed into a few hundred words and often written in less than an hour, a review makes heavy demands on writer's technique and experience. This book explains how to seize your readers' attention and how to be witty always, fascinating most of the time and bitchy when you need to be. Reviews from classic writer like Pauline Kael or Kenneth Tynan are contrasted with today's hot names including Mark Kermode and Stewart Maconie. We look back at the history of the critic and some of the groundbreaking groups who have shaped our culture, including Dorothy Parker and the Algonquin Round Table, the French New Wave directors who founded Les Cahiers du CInema and London's celebrated Modern Review, founded by Julie Burchill, Toby Young and Cosmo Landesman.
Category: Art. ISBN: 9781904048916

Arts & Leisure

www.ebooks.com/cj.asp?IID=95815496&cjsku=95815496...
Written by the popular author of On the Open Road and other works, this brilliantly caustic play is built around a self absorbed drama critic who judges theatre and life by the same criteria, to absurd extremes. He is confronted by the bitter, alienated women who have suffered from his unyielding clinical detachment and his determination to judge suffering, global and personal, by its dramatic impact on him. These include his ex wife, a former actress who is losing her grip; his tragic daughter, a stand up comedienne; his forlornly empathetic old mother and his acrimonious housekeeper and confidante. The critic longs for human contact but conducts his life as a series of pat scenes that avoid the messy and tangled issues of real relationships. FEE: $75 per performance.
Category: Drama. ISBN: 9780573810367
[1] 2345Next