Language Arts PDF: 1 to 10 of 2131 results fetched - page 1 [gk]

Zoolz is the only cloud solution that keeps your data even when you disconnect your drives

Language Arts

books.google.com/books?id=ke5zCQAAQBAJ&dq=Language+Ar...
A high school English teacher begins to rise out of the rut his life has fallen into with the help of an art student and an Italian nun. By the best-selling author ofBroken for You. 30,000 first printing.
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on 06/09/2015
Book details: 416 pages.

Broken for You

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=9cc8lAPmH0MC&...
“A dazzling mosaic of intersecting lives and fates . . . Comparisons to John Irving and Tennessee Williams would not be amiss in this show-stopping debut” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). The national bestseller and Today Show Book Club selection, Broken for You is the story of two women in self-imposed exile whose lives are transformed when their paths intersect . . . When we meet septuagenarian Margaret Hughes, she is living alone in a mansion in Seattle with only a massive collection of valuable antiques for company. Enter Wanda Schultz, a young woman with a broken heart who has come west to search for her wayward boyfriend. Both women are guarding dark secrets and have spent many years building up protective armor against the outside world. As their tentative friendship evolves, the armor begins to fall away and Margaret opens her house to the younger woman. This launches a series of unanticipated events, leading Margaret to discover a way to redeem her cursed past, and Wanda to learn the true purpose of her cross-country journey. “I absolutely fell in love with this book. . . . There is a message here about creating family in the most unusual places. . . . A wonderful, engaging story.” —Sue Monk Kidd, New York Times–bestselling author of The Secret Life of Bees “Well-crafted plotting and crackling wit make this debut novel by Seattle author Kallos a delight to read and a memory to savor . . . Book groups will enjoy discussing the layers of meaning, the stylistic nuances, and the powerful message of hope secreted in these pages.” —Booklist (starred review)
Published by Grove/Atlantic, Inc. on 12/01/2007
Book details: 400 pages.

Essentials of Integrating the Language Arts

books.google.com/books?id=4zcrDwAAQBAJ&dq=Language+Ar...
Essentials of Integrating the Language Arts, Fifth Edition, offers students all the practical tools they need to be effective language arts teachers, supported by the necessary theoretical foundation. Like its predecessors, this edition presents a comprehensive approach to teaching the language arts, balancing direct instruction in the communication arts and integrating the language arts with other content areas such as music, art, mathematics, social studies, and science. It explores the important topics of community and caregiver involvement in education and offers thoughtful coverage of diversity in the schools. Practical teaching ideas are found in every chapter. The 5th Edition reflects current teaching practices, field knowledge, and research. Significant changes include: A more streamlined approach to allow readers to move quickly from learning chapter concepts and related theory and research to understanding how they are applied in classroom practices, activities, and strategies Discussion of standards, including the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), with the goal of showing readers how they can apply standards in the classroom to help meet their students' needs New teaching activities that support the chapter topics and align with the CCSS An appendix with more than 25 classroom assessment tools Discussion of current, quality children's and young adult literature, including informational texts, supported by an appendix of annotated lists of books by genre Key Features "In the Classroom" vignettes, describing real teachers implementing language arts strategies and activities with their students "RRP" (Read Research Practice) boxed features, offering ideas for activities and projects "Teaching Activities," which future teachers can use in their own classrooms "Field and Practicum Activities," which readers can use now in field and practicum settings Discussions of technology and websites, to help readers prepare to integrate technology in their own classrooms
Author: David Yellin
Published by Taylor & Francis on 05/11/2017
Book details: 400 pages.

Formative Assessment for English Language Arts

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=0RYEAQAAQBAJ&...
This book demonstrates how formative assessments, unlike standardized tests, provide the kind of communication between teachers and students that help teachers make instructional decisions to improve student performance.
Author: Amy Benjamin
Published by Routledge on 09/27/2013
Book details: 150 pages.

Language Arts

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=7naCDwAAQBAJ&...
From the first edition to the latest, Language Arts: Process, Product and Assessment for Diverse Classrooms has presented sound language arts theory and methodology in a nonthreatening, straightforward manner at a reasonable price. Coverage focuses on the 2017 Standards for Literacy Professionals. Each chapter identifies and addresses the standards applicable to that chapter’s topics. Farris and Werderich infuse their foundational guidelines with the latest research, teaching practices, and assessment and evaluation techniques. Ideas for lesson plans, use of technological applications, internet resources, and comprehensive, up-to-date listings of children’s, young adult, and multicultural fiction and nonfiction titles are among the text’s outstanding features. Other features geared expressly for pre- and inservice teachers include: • Engaging, real-life classroom anecdotes • Instructional activities for reading, writing, listening, speaking, viewing, and visually representing • Boxes containing teaching hints and mini lessons • Section on Response to Intervention (RtI) with the various tiers of intervention • Theories, instruction, and teaching activities for English language learners (ELLs) • Guidelines to meet the needs of special needs learners • Suggestions for literacy-based interdisciplinary instruction (including STEM and STEAM) • Examples of children’s work to help readers understand what to expect from different ages and ability levels • Questions and assignments to strengthen readers’ aptitude, awareness, and application of topics to real life
Published by Waveland Press on 01/08/2019
Book details: 582 pages.

Everything You Need to Ace English Language Arts in One Big Fat Notebook

books.google.com/books?id=iFwbDAAAQBAJ&dq=Language+Ar...
It’s the revolutionary English language arts study guide just for middle school students from the brains behind Brain Quest. Everything You Need to Ace English Language Arts . . .takes students from grammar to reading comprehension to writing with ease, including parts of speech, active and passive verbs, Greek and Latin roots and affixes; nuances in word meanings; textual analysis, authorship, structure, and other skills for reading fiction and nonfiction; and writing arguments, informative texts, and narratives. The BIG FAT NOTEBOOK™ series is built on a simple and irresistible conceit—borrowing the notes from the smartest kid in class. There are five books in all, and each is the only book you need for each main subject taught in middle school: Math, Science, American History, English Language Arts, and World History. Inside the reader will find every subject’s key concepts, easily digested and summarized: Critical ideas highlighted in neon colors. Definitions explained. Doodles that illuminate tricky concepts in marker. Mnemonics for memorable shortcuts. And quizzes to recap it all. The BIG FAT NOTEBOOKS meet Common Core State Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and state history standards, and are vetted by National and State Teacher of the Year Award–winning teachers. They make learning fun, and are the perfect next step for every kid who grew up on Brain Quest.
Published by Workman Publishing on 08/09/2016
Book details: 512 pages.

Sing Them Home

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=gE5KMPjrbGQC&...
One of Entertainment Weekly’s Ten Best Books of the Year: “A magical novel that even cynics will close with a smile” (People). Everyone in Emlyn Springs, Nebraska, knows the story of Hope Jones, who was lost in the tornado of 1978. Her three young children found some stability in their father, a preoccupied doctor, and in their mother’s spitfire best friend—but nothing could make up for the loss of Hope. Larken, the eldest, is now an art history professor who seeks in food an answer to a less tangible hunger. Gaelan, the son, is a telegenic weatherman who devotes his life to predicting the unpredictable. And the youngest, Bonnie, is a self-proclaimed archivist who combs roadsides for clues to her mother’s legacy, and permission to move on. When they’re summoned home after their father’s sudden death, each sibling is forced to revisit the childhood event that has defined their lives. With lyricism, wisdom, and humor, this novel by the national bestselling author of Broken for You explores the consequences of protecting those we love. Sing Them Home is a magnificent tapestry of lives connected and undone by tragedy, lives poised—unbeknownst to the characters—for redemption. “Comparisons to John Irving and Tennessee Williams would not be amiss in this show-stopping debut.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Sing Them Home constantly surprises . . . A big cast of vividly portrayed characters.” —The Boston Globe “Fans of Ann Patchett and Haven Kimmel should dive onto the sofa one wintry weekend with Stephanie Kallos’s wonderfully transportive second novel.” —Entertainment Weekly
Published by Open Road + Grove/Atlantic on 09/08/2009
Book details: 560 pages.

Language Arts

books.google.com/books?id=UmdgAwAAQBAJ&dq=Language+Ar...
San Francisco poet Cedar Sigo’s third collection is a lively spectacle that compels the reader with its syncopated rhythms.
Author: Cedar Sigo
Published by Wave Books on 04/01/2014
Book details: 64 pages.

Help Your Kids with Language Arts

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=J47EAwAAQBAJ&...
Reduce the stress of studying English and help your child with their homework! The perfect guide for parents who want to assist their children with schoolwork, Help Your Kids with Language Arts is designed to make all facets of studying the English language easy and interesting. Presenting the ins and outs of English in a clear, visual, and accessible style, Help Your Kids with Language Arts covers everything from the basic concepts of grammar, punctuation, spelling, and communication skills to some of the more challenging ideas that face students today.
Published by Penguin on 07/01/2014
Book details: 256 pages.

Activities for Fast Finishers

books.google.com/books?id=dfFej4Nx3-oC&dq=Language+Ar...
Presents fifty-five reproducible high-interest activities for students in grades four through eight that focus on grammar and other language skills, designed to worked on independently for an average of ten to fifteen minutes each.
Published by Scholastic Inc. on 10/01/2002
Book details: 64 pages.
[1] 2345Next
PDFfetch