Frank Luna PDF: 1 to 10 of 2427 results fetched - page 1 [gk]

Zoolz is the only cloud solution that keeps your data even when you disconnect your drives

Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 12

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=gj6TDgAAQBAJ&...
This updated bestseller provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12. The book is divided into three main parts: basic mathematical tools, fundamental tasks in Direct3D, and techniques and special effects. It shows how to use new Direct12 features such as command lists, pipeline state objects, descriptor heaps and tables, and explicit resource management to reduce CPU overhead and increase scalability across multiple CPU cores. The book covers modern special effects and techniques such as hardware tessellation, writing compute shaders, ambient occlusion, reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, and character animation. Includes a companion DVD with code and figures. eBook Customers: Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at [email protected] FEATURES: • Provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12 • Uses new Direct3D 12 features to reduce CPU overhead and take advantage of multiple CPU cores • Contains detailed explanations of popular real-time game effects • Includes a DVD with source code and all the images (including 4-color) from the book • Learn advance rendering techniques such as ambient occlusion, real-time reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, programming the geometry shader, and character animation • Covers a mathematics review and 3D rendering fundamentals such as lighting, texturing, blending and stenciling • Use the end-of-chapter exercises to test understanding and provide experience with DirectX 12
Author: Frank Luna
Published by Stylus Publishing, LLC on 04/19/2016
Book details: 900 pages.

Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 9.0c: A Shader Approach

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=wR3eQVU5gWQC&...
Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 9.0c: A Shader Approach presents an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development, using real-time shaders with DirectX 9.0. The book is divided into three parts that explain basic mathematical and 3D concepts, show how to describe 3D worlds and implement fundamental 3D rendering techniques, and demonstrate the application of Direct3D to create a variety of special effects. With this book understand basic mathematical tools used in video game creation such as vectors, matrices, and transformations; discover how to describe and draw interactive 3D scenes using Direct3D and the D3DX library; learn how to implement lighting, texture mapping, alpha blending, and stenciling using shaders and the high-level shading language (HLSL); explore a variety of techniques for creating special effects, including vertex blending, character animation, terrain rendering, multi-texturing, particle systems, reflections, shadows, and normal mapping;f ind out how to work with meshes, load and render .X files, program terrain/camera collision detection, and implement 3D object picking; review key ideas, gain programming experience, and explore new topics with the end-of-chapter exercises.
Author: Frank Luna
Published by Wordware Publishing, Inc. on 09/23/2010
Book details: 630 pages.

Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 10

books.google.com/books?id=AyACb-t8E-MC&dq=Frank+Luna&...
Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 10 provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development, using DirectX 10. The book is divided into three main parts. Part I explores basic mathematical tools, Part II shows how to implement fundamental tasks in Direct3D, and Part III demonstrates a variety of techniques and special effects. With this book understand how vectors, matrices, and transfomations are used in the creation of computer games; discover how to implement lighting, texture mapping, blending, and stenciling to increase the realism of your scenes; explore techniques for creating special effects, including terrain rendering, shadow mapping, particle systems, and reflections; learn about new Direct3D 10 features such as geometry shaders, the stream out pipeline stage, texture arrays, and primitive IDs; test your knowledge and programming skills with the end-of-chapter exercises.
Author: Frank Luna
Published by Jones & Bartlett Publishers on 08/20/2019
Book details: 502 pages.

Shattering the Icons

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=67ceDAAAQBAJ&...
Fidel Castro. Che Guevara. Cesar Chavez. Karl Marx. Mao Tse-tung…and others. All Icons of the Progressive Left, and similarly the infallible Icons of the early years of Professor Frank M. Luna as he grew up on a small farm in Central California. After his matriculation at Fresno State, Professor Luna soon discovers that the Iconic foundation has cracks, and he decides to cleave them open for all to see. In this flowing and riveting account, Professor Luna chronicles his decades-long transformation to discard his political upbringing amidst the discovery of the horrors of these Marxist leaders and their states, while also exposing the US academic community’s complicity in their crimes against humanity. At times humorous and always engrossing, along his journey Professor Luna encounters biased instructors, heroic and quirky students, and institutions of higher learning that are not quite what they promote themselves to be. Shattering the Icons is an engaging narrative of a political and teaching transformation. A must read for the general public and educators alike, Shattering the Icons is a clarion call for the academic community in the US to transform itself.
Published by Page Publishing Inc on 05/06/2016
Book details: 502 pages.

Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=KfrRBQAAQBAJ&...
Direct3D 11 offers such a wealth of capabilities that users can sometimes get lost in the details of specific APIs and their implementation. While there is a great deal of low-level information available about how each API function should be used, there is little documentation that shows how best to leverage these capabilities. Written by active members of the Direct3D community, Practical Rendering and Computation with Direct3D 11 provides a deep understanding of both the high and low level concepts related to using Direct3D 11. The first part of the book presents a conceptual introduction to Direct3D 11, including an overview of the Direct3D 11 rendering and computation pipelines and how they map to the underlying hardware. It also provides a detailed look at all of the major components of the library, covering resources, pipeline details, and multithreaded rendering. Building upon this material, the second part of the text includes detailed examples of how to use Direct3D 11 in common rendering scenarios. The authors describe sample algorithms in-depth and discuss how the features of Direct3D 11 can be used to your advantage. All of the source code from the book is accessible on an actively maintained open source rendering framework. The sample applications and the framework itself can be downloaded from http://hieroglyph3.codeplex.com By analyzing when to use various tools and the tradeoffs between different implementations, this book helps you understand the best way to accomplish a given task and thereby fully leverage the potential capabilities of Direct3D 11.
Published by CRC Press on 04/19/2016
Book details: 648 pages.

Like Son

books.google.com/books?id=W1rMvc2oyJAC&dq=Frank+Luna&...
Frank Cruz is a sardonic post-punk of 30. Born a bouncing baby girl - Francisca - to parents tangled in a doomed love affair, inheritor of his father's wanderlust. Left a crumbling photo of a beautiful woman at his father's deathbed. Fleeing to New York City, where he meets Nathalie - eccentric, gorgeous, sharp-tongued: the spit of the woman in the portrait. Love - seven happy go lucky years. And then in September 2001, the sky falls apart...
Published by Akashic Books on 04/01/2007
Book details: 280 pages.

Beginning DirectX 11 Game Programming

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=7ZkLAAAAQBAJ&...
Discover the latest and most popular technology for creating next-generation 3D games: DIRECTX 11! BEGINNING DIRECTX 11 GAME PROGRAMMING is an introductory guide to learning the basics of DirectX 11 that will help get you started on the path to 3D video g
Published by Cengage Learning on 08/20/2019
Book details: 384 pages.

Man of the Year

books.google.com/books?id=S1iYDwAAQBAJ&dq=Frank+Luna&...
Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart. Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named Man of the Year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house and a beautiful new wife and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity. But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells—harmless falsehoods meant to protect everything he holds dear—begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. It’s only the women in his life—his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife—who can clearly see the truth. Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist that you won’t see coming.
Published by Gallery Books on 06/11/2019
Book details: 304 pages.

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress

books.google.com/books?id=HtuRSsAb2fEC&dq=Frank+Luna&...
A one-armed computer technician, a radical blonde bombshell, an aging academic, and a sentient all-knowing computer lead the lunar population in a revolution against Earth's colonial rule
Published by Macmillan on 08/20/1966
Book details: 383 pages.

Lucky Luna

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=RF9FDwAAQBAJ&...
Diana López returns to her middle-grade sweet spot in this delightful novel perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Charise Mericle Harper, and Angela Cervantes.
Author: Diana Lopez
Published by Scholastic Inc. on 08/28/2018
Book details: 192 pages.
[1] 2345Next
PDFfetch