penguin PDF: 1 to 10 of 100 results fetched - page 1 [au]

The Penguin Lessons

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguin-Lessons-Tom-Michell-ebook/d...
*AS HEARD ON BBC RADIO 2 FACT NOT FICTION BOOKCLUB AND READ BY BILL NIGHY ON AUDIO*'I was hoping against hope that the penguin would survive because as of that instant he had a name, and with his name came the beginning of a bond which would last a life-time'Tom Michell is in his roaring twenties: single, free-spirited and seeking adventure. He has a plane ticket to South America, a teaching position in a prestigious Argentine boarding school, and endless summer holidays. He even has a motorbike, Che Guevara style. What he doesn't need is a pet. What he really doesn't need is a pet penguin.Set against Argentina's turbulent years following the collapse of the corrupt Perónist regime, this is the heart-warming story of Juan Salvador the penguin, rescued by Tom from an oil slick in Uruguay just days before a new term. When the bird refuses to leave Tom's side, the young teacher has no choice but to smuggle it across the border, through customs, and back to school. Whether it's as the rugby team's mascot, the housekeeper's confidant, the host at Tom's parties or the most flamboyant swimming coach in world history, Juan Salvador transforms the lives of all he meets - in particular one homesick school boy. And as for Tom, he discovers in Juan Salvador a compadre like no other...The Penguin Lessons is a unique and moving true story which has captured imaginations around the globe - for all those who dreamed as a child they might one day talk to the animals.
Author: Tom Michell
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 11/05/2015
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 242 pages

Penguin (0)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguin-0-Polly-Dunbar-ebook/dp/B00...
Ben is delighted when he rips open his present and finds a penguin inside. “Hello, Penguin!” says Ben. Penguin says nothing. Ben tickles Penguin; he pulls his funniest face; he puts on a happy hat, sings a silly song and does a dizzy dance. “Can’t you talk?” says Ben. Penguin says nothing. It isn’t until a passing lion intervenes that Penguin finally speaks ... and when he does, Ben discovers something that was really worth the wait.
Author: Polly Dunbar
Published by: Walker | Publication date: 02/02/2012
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 40 pages

Close to Home: The 'impossible to put down' Richard & Judy Book Club thriller pick 2018 (DI Fawley)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Close-Home-impossible-Richard-thril...
SOMEONE TOOK DAISY MASON... SOMEONE YOU KNOW.The RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB pick everyone is raving about, this pulse-pounding thriller about the search for a missing child is perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.'One of the best crime thrillers I have ever read' Kathryn CroftHOW CAN A CHILD GO MISSING WITHOUT A TRACE?Last night, eight-year-old Daisy Mason disappeared from a family party. No one in the quiet suburban street saw anything - or at least that's what they're saying.DI Adam Fawley is trying to keep an open mind. But he knows the nine times out of ten, it's someone the victim knew.That means someone is lying...And that Daisy's time is running out. Introducing DI Fawley and his team of Oxford detectives, and a Richard and Judy Book Club pick for Spring 2018, CLOSE TO HOME is the new crime thriller series to get addicted to.WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT CLOSE TO HOME:'THE LAST TWIST WAS A GENUINE STROKE OF GENIUS' John Marrs'A MAZEY, GRIPPING READ' Ian Rankin'A 5-STAR PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER' D. Elliott Amazon Reviewer Vine Voice'COMPULSIVE, WITH AN ENDING YOU WILL NOT SEE COMING' Emma Kavanagh'AN ABSOLUTELY UNPUTDOWNABLE READ' Mrs C. Swarfield Amazon Reviewer Vine Voice'I FINISHED CLOSE TO HOME IN ONE SITTING!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones
Author: Cara Hunter
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 12/14/2017
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 385 pages

Where's The Penguin? (Buster Activity)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wheres-Penguin-Buster-Activity-Soph...
Ten little penguins have escaped from the zoo, and they're on the adventure of a lifetime. Can you find all ten of them? Crammed with cute and colourful illustrations, and with loads of silly stuff to spot on every page, it's time to get ready for a penguin party!
Published by: Buster Books | Publication date: 04/26/2014
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 48 pages

Penguin Modern Classics: The Complete List: The Complete List

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguin-Modern-Classics-Complete-Li...
'A classic is a book which has never exhausted all it has to say to its readers' from Why Read the Classics? by Italo CalvinoPenguin Modern Classics have been shaping the reading habits of generations since 1961. This 50th anniversary catalogue offers a complete list of all the titles in print across the Modern Classics list, from Chinua Achebe to Stefan Zweig via George Orwell and everything else in between. It also contains Italo Calvino's inspiring essay on what makes a classic a classic.
Author: Penguin
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 02/15/2011
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 88 pages

Penguins: Amazing Pictures & Fun Facts on Animals in Nature (Our Amazing World Series Book 9)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguins-Amazing-Pictures-Animals-N...
Bestselling children’s author Kay de Silva presents “Penguins”. The book uses captivating illustrations and carefully chosen words to teach children about "the social bird.” This series is known as one of the most beautiful on the kindle. The pictures look great even in black and white and are excellent on the full color kindle. The description in the large text beneath is simple enough for early readers or for a parent to guide a child through.There are also picture captions that provide more information to talk about with your child. Alternatively, a child of any age (even the child in you) can just look at the images and appreciate their beauty.This book depicts the wonder of the world of Penguins in all its glory. Children are given a well-rounded understanding of this fascinating creature: its anatomy, feeding habits and behavior. The following penguins are featured:* The fierce Adelie Penguin* The comical African Penguin * The aggressive Chinstrap Penguin* The awesome Emperor Penguin * The strange Galapagos Penguin* The regal King Penguin * The beautiful Little Blue Penguin* The burrowing Magellanic Penguin* The bad-tempered Rockhopper Penguin Get this book at this SPECIAL PRICE exclusive to the Amazon Store.*** Your child will love it - this is guaranteed.***
Author: Kay de Silva
Publication date: 12/06/2013
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 38 pages

Penguins (Amazing Pictures And Fun Facts Book About Penguins)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguins-Amazing-Pictures-Facts-Abo...
Welcome to the cute little world of penguins. In "Facts About Penguins" you're about to enter the amazing and wonderful world of these beautiful birds. Jam packed with delightful penguin images and stuffed full with cool facts about these beautiful creatures, this book is a delight to read. This is your chance to expand your knowledge of penguins and impress family and friends with little known facts.If penguins are you or your child's passion then you'll really appreciate this book.
Publication date: 09/16/2013
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 28 pages

The Penguin Complete Sherlock Holmes

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguin-Complete-Sherlock-Holmes-eb...
Sherlock Holmes is not only the most famous character in crime fiction, but arguably the most famous character in all fiction. In sixty adventures that pit his extraordinary wits and courage against foreign spies, blackmailers, cultists, petty thieves, murderers, swindlers, policemen (both stupid and clever), and his arch-nemesis Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes, together with his faithful sidekick Doctor John H. Watson, proves himself to be not only the quintessential detective but also the most engaging and entertaining company any reader could ask for. This beautiful new edition contains a new foreword by Ruth Rendell
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 11/05/2009
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 1136 pages

Penguins: 101 Fun Facts & Amazing Pictures (Featuring The World's Top 8 Penguins)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Penguins-Amazing-Pictures-Featuring...
This book depicts the wonder of the world of Penguins in all its glory. Children are given a well-rounded understanding of this fascinating creature: its anatomy, feeding habits and behavior. The following penguins are featured: * The fierce Adelie Penguin * The comical African Penguin * The awesome Emperor Penguin * The strange Galapagos Penguin * The regal King Penguin * The beautiful Little Blue Penguin * The burrowing Magellanic Penguin * The bad-tempered Rockhopper Penguin The pictures look great even in black and white and are excellent on the full color kindle. The description in the large text beneath is simple enough for early readers or for a parent to guide a child through. There are also picture captions that provide more information to talk about with your child. Alternatively, a child of any age (even the child in you) can just look at the images and appreciate its beauty. Enjoy!
Author: Janet Evans
Published by: Speedy Kids | Publication date: 10/23/2013
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 29 pages

A Month in the Country (Penguin Modern Classics)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Month-Country-Penguin-Modern-Classi...
In the summer of 1920 two men, both war survivors meet in the quiet English countryside. One is living in the church, intent upon uncovering and restoring an historical wall painting while the other camps in the next field in search of a lost grave.Out of their meeting comes a deeper communion and a catching up of the old primeval rhythms of life so cruelly disorientated by the Great War.
Author: J.L. Carr
Published by: Penguin | Publication date: 12/01/2011
Kindle book details: Kindle Edition, 116 pages, ISBN 9780141182308
[1] 2345Next
PDFfetch